Text size

Theme

Language

"Poor time management and triaging allocation"

About: King Edward Memorial Hospital / Emergency Department King Edward Memorial Hospital / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

I am a chronic long term patient who has endometriosis, adenomyosis, cysts and pelvic pain. I go to king Edward emergency room almost weekly sometimes. The last time I went the wait was 7-9 hours and I wasn’t offered any pain relief or anything as I was in excruciating pain the midwives on the triage desk wouldn’t even let me use the inside toilet after they had asked for my urine sample.

Based on my experience I feel that King Edward emergency department treated me as a gynaecology patient horribly. The midwives I have seen in the emergency department are, in my opinion, rude and dismissive. I believe they put pregnant patients who have no signs of anything apparently wrong first and made me wait 7-9 sometimes 10 hours. I feel they are very slow to do anything and only have 1 doctor on at night for the ward and emergency department which I think is absolutely ridiculous.

I ended up discharging myself and came home to find I was bleeding heavily this morning. Based on my experience I think this hospital is an absolute joke and a nightmare. I think that something needs to be done as it seems and nobody cares. Enough is enough, the apparent lack of respect is bad enough. I’m having to go to a GP as my gynaecologist isn’t readily available and is a very popular person and doesn’t work at night time so what else am I supposed to do. 

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Delaney Gibbons, Director, Safety Quality and Performance, Safety, Quality and Performance, Women and Newborn Health Service 4 days ago
Delaney Gibbons
Director, Safety Quality and Performance, Safety, Quality and Performance,
Women and Newborn Health Service
Submitted on 25/08/2025 at 3:22 PM
Published on Care Opinion Australia at 3:50 PM


picture of Delaney Gibbons

Dear auguster94

Thank you for reaching out to share your experience with us. I’m truly sorry to hear about your recent presentation to the Emergency Centre (EC) at King Edward Memorial Hospital. All patients presenting to the EC are prioritised based on clinical urgency, and there are times when large numbers of patients are present which can contribute to waiting times. I am sorry to hear your reflections on how staff communicated with you during your presentation, as all patients deserve to be treated with care and respect.

If you have not already done so, I would encourage you to reach out to our Consumer Liaison Team at 6458 1444 or via email at WNHSCLS@health.wa.gov.au. They will be able to arrange for the concerns you have raised to be reviewed in more detail.

I hope that you were able to obtain the necessary care from your GP as your primary health care provider, and hope we hear from you soon.

Best wishes

Delaney

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k