This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Poor attitude of triage staff at Ipswich Emergency"

About: Ipswich Hospital / Emergency Department

(as other),

I recently considered taking a family member to the Ipswich Emergency Department but found it to be congested and in my opinion dangerous. The walkway to Emergency Department meant that we had to walk through parked Ambulances, then to make matters worse when we made our way into the triage area we witnessed what I thought was poor attitude of the Triage staff at Ipswich Emergency Department. I felt they spoke in a very rude tone to some patients that were waiting to be seen. I heard a gentlemen that was speaking with the Nurse at the desk, and a woman berate a person for coming to the Emergency department when they appeared to have an infection and need a dressing changed. In my opinion even though this didn’t appear to be a life threatening injury there may not have been an alternate treatment or options for this elderly gentleman. I would never choose to go to an Emergency Department unless I needed their care. I believe some people who are less fortunate don't have the luxury of good health and supportive people close by. These are the people that are supposed to care for those of us. It doesn't cost a cent to be kind to another human being.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from WMHHS 9 years ago
Submitted on 2/05/2013 at 10:07 AM
Published on Care Opinion at 12:42 PM

Dear Crawcheer,

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a very good experience when you brought your family member to the Emergency Department at Ipswich Hospital.

The major expansion (including the Emergency Department) is very exciting for us but it does mean that sometimes temporary access to areas may look messy. We apologise this caused you concern or if you felt you were in any danger. We have let the construction team know your concerns and please be assured the team work very hard at ensuring appropriate measures are taken for the safety of all people coming to the service.

We can't apologise enough for the behaviour you observed from the triage staff. You are right; being kind doesn’t cost a cent. We have reminded staff of the importance of being kind and polite in all their communications.

Thank you for taking the time to use Patient Opinion. We were touched by your comments which clearly come from a place of well wishes and compassion for everyone.

We hope that your family member is now in the best possible health and should you ever have to return to Ipswich Hospital that your experience reflects that your concerns have been heard.

Kind regards

Consumer Liaison Service

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k