This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Ridiculous wait times at Ipswich hospital antenatal clinic..."

About: Ipswich Hospital / Maternity

(as the patient),

I have had four appointments at the Ipswich hospital antenatal clinic and not once have I been seen anywhere near my appointment time. On one occasion I had to reschedule my appointment after waiting for over an hour and needing to be somewhere else.

I had an 8: 45am appointment (as I did for my last appointment) and I wasn't seen for almost an hour. Indeed nobody in the waiting room was called until well after 9am. I heard from the receptionist that staff were running behind. How on earth can there already be a backlog at 9am in the morning! ! ! !

What made it worse was that by the time I was finally called I really needed to use the bathroom. I couldn't go before in case my name was called and I missed it. When I asked the doctor if I could go before the appointment she didn't seem very happy about it. Obviously, it seems to me that she has never been seven months pregnant and trying to hold her bladder for an extended time frame... not to mention feeling light-headed after sitting for an hour in a small, increasingly crowded waiting room with poor air circulation.

She didn't even apologise for the long wait which I would think is common courtesy.

Surely this facility can be made to run with some level of efficiency! It's as if this painfully slow moving clinic thinks that pregnant women have nothing better to do with a whole morning than hang around in their waiting room.

It is totally unacceptable really.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from West Moreton Health Service, West Moreton Hospital and Health Service 9 years ago
West Moreton Health Service
West Moreton Hospital and Health Service
Submitted on 3/09/2014 at 5:43 PM
Published on Care Opinion on 18/09/2014 at 4:13 PM

Dear YSRM,

We were sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the wait time at the antenatal clinic and we offer our sincere apology for the inconvenience and discomfort you experienced.

West Moreton Hospital and Health Service is committed to providing excellent care as well as ensuring our patients have a positive experience in all of our facilities on each occasion of service. In response to your concerns, the Antenatal team is now trialing a new schedule that enables clinicians to commence seeing patients earlier which will reduce patient wait times.

We appreciate that you have also emailed the Consumer Liaison Office and we will shortly be in touch to offer you a more personal response. Please feel free to contact us at any time on 3810 111 during business hours or you can email us at

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us on the Patient Opinion Website. Feedback such as yours helps us understand where we can make a difference in our services.


Consumer Liaison Officer

West Moreton Hospital and Health Service

3rd September 2014

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k