This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Ipswich Hospital - Do I have to start again?"

About: Ipswich Hospital

(as the patient),

I've had a 2 year wait just to see a doctor at Ipswich Hospital; I've been in pain 24/7 for over 5 years.

I had an appointment Melbourne Cup Day to see a specialist and arrived 15 minutes early for an appointment in the early afternoon. An hour and three quarters after my appointment time, I got to see a doctor NOT the specialist I was to see. A dozen staff stood in the waiting room watching TV while people waited to see doctors.

The doctor was very fast and really did not seem to read my medical file.

At the follow up appointment I felt I spent no more than 2 mins with another doctor who again seemed not to have read my medical file and said we can’t find anything and quickly signed a discharge form.

I’m still in pain 24/7, so I guess I have to start again, another 2 year wait to a doctor in the Ipswich hospital. This is not good enough and is extremely poor the way I am treated, I’ m not a number I’ m a person who needs medical care, care I’m not getting.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from West Moreton Health Service, West Moreton Hospital and Health Service 9 years ago
West Moreton Health Service
West Moreton Hospital and Health Service
Submitted on 23/12/2014 at 11:04 AM
Published on Care Opinion at 11:20 AM

Dear Gem56

I am truly sorry to hear you are in such pain which must be very difficult for you.

We always try to see our patients as soon as possible, and I am sorry this has not been the case for you.

I was disappointed to hear that you have not been looked after during your time with us, in a way which has helped you with your pain and showed that we really do care. Whilst I know Melbourne Cup is exciting for some, this certainly should not have got in the way of providing you with timely support and care. Please accept my sincere apologies this was your experience and we will certainly keep this in mind in the future to prevent this occurring again.

You are right, you should never feel treated like a number and you do deserve the best possible care.

To help us provide you with support, please contact your General Practitioner who will be able to provide advice for managing your pain and refer you to us should you need further Specialist care.

We would very much like to help you and encourage you to contact your General Practitioner who will also be happy to assist.

If you would like to talk to us more, please don’t hesitate to contact our Consumer Liaison Officer directly on 3810 1111 and we will be happy to assist.

Kind regards

Linda Hardy

Executive Director, Clinical Services

West Moreton Hospital and Health Service

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k