This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Disgusted with a doctor's attitude"

About: Box Hill Hospital

(as the patient),

I am referring to my appointment at Box Hill Hospital Rheumatology. I was literally disgusted at the attitude of a particular doctor. Being referred to a specialist for problems in your joints by your local GP means you need outside help, when seen by this so called specialist I was given attitude which I struggled to comprehend. They didn't seem too interested that my ankle was swollen and that I have problems with my joints.

After approx. 15 minutes of seeing them, I believe their exact words to me were I am a busy person and haven't got time for people with this issue. I am there to treat a problem that is getting worse and in turn get a doctor with attitude. The doctor was of no help to me as I have seen what feels like hundreds of GP's and so called specialists for this ongoing problem hoping for an outcome with no avail.

Upon leaving I asked for a medical certificate as I was unable to work because of my swollen ankle for the three days, the doctor rudely said the girls at the front desk would do this which they did. As they went to get the doctor to sign it the doctor crossed off the days and only gave me one for that morning which I found to be disrespectful.

Upon my next appointment I do not want to see this doctor and suggest they be spoken to about their arrogant attitude towards patients.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Alan Lilly, Chief Executive, Eastern Health 8 years ago
Alan Lilly
Chief Executive,
Eastern Health
Submitted on 6/08/2015 at 5:54 PM
Published on Care Opinion on 7/08/2015 at 9:48 AM

picture of Alan Lilly

Dear POAUG07

First of all, please let me apologise for your experience in our Outpatients Department at Box Hill Hospital. I am really sorry to read about this and the way that you were treated and can assure you that what you experienced is well below our expectations of our staff in Eastern Health.

We certainly need to learn from these stories and I am keen to be able to follow-up for you to (a) directly deal with the issue you have raised and (b) manage your next appointment with another doctor if that is possible.

I would be grateful if you would email me directly at and provide me with some details so that I can do this for you.

If you choose not to do that, I will of course totally respect your decision but in order to manage the issue of your next appointment, I am keen to look at what options we might have.

Once again, I am sorry that you have experienced Eastern Health in this way and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards, Alan Lilly

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k