This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"My admission through the emergency department"

About: The Townsville Hospital / Emergency Department

(as the patient),

I drove myself to hospital because I was having trouble breathing, I know not very smart. The staff in the emergency department were amazing and treated me quickly and professionally at all times.

When I was admitted to the ward the staff there were also attentive. They were always professional and maintained confidentiality.

I was disappointed in the discharge process and felt pressured to leave the hospital as 'they needed the beds'. I still was unwell but left anyway.

I managed to stay home for three days before giving in and coming back to emergency requiring a readmission.

The only way that I learnt about my admission diagnosis was from the discharge summary that came in the mail. I was instructed to follow up with my GP and private specialist. I had to be readmitted before I was able to do any of these things.

Many times medical staff would come in and tell me they are just going to look at my pathology but never came back with the results.

Communication was disappointing in this aspect.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Julie Shepherd, Nurse Manager Patient Experience, Patient Services; Clinical Governance Directorate, Townsvillle Hospital and Health Services 8 years ago
Julie Shepherd
Nurse Manager Patient Experience, Patient Services; Clinical Governance Directorate,
Townsvillle Hospital and Health Services
Submitted on 4/11/2015 at 9:14 AM
Published on Care Opinion at 10:08 AM

Dear PONOV07,

Thank you for sharing your story and giving us your valuable feedback. I must agree with you, driving while having trouble breathing is certainly not recommended. I am really pleased to know however, that on reaching our Emergency Department, you received amazing and professional care from our staff who work very hard to deliver high quality care every day.

It is great to hear that you received professional and attentive care by the great staff in our wards.

Your feedback on your discharge process and your understanding of your diagnosis and follow up care is important information that I will feed back to the Director of Medical Services and Director of Medicine today. It appears we failed you with providing you with clear communication and a well-informed discharge plan and I apologise to you for this.

I am sorry to hear that you felt pressured to leave, especially while still feeling unwell and that you required readmission in such a short time following your discharge.This must have been a stressful and worrying time for you.

We would like an opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail so that we can explore the issues you have raised. I encourage you to contact staff in our Client Liaison Office on 44331074 to discuss further.

I will be really happy to share your feedback with our terrific staff in the Emergency Department and also to the staff on the ward where you were admitted; I wonder if you could provide me with the name of the ward either by reply to this web address or by phone to our Client Liaison Office on 44331074, it would be nice to share your positive comments with them, thanks.

Please know that our hospital takes all feedback seriously and once again, I thank you for sharing your story which will help us to improve on things that we could do better.

I do hope you are feeling much better PONOV07 and I wish you all the best,

With kind regards,

Julie Shepherd

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k