This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Lack of communication"

About: Maroondah Hospital

(as the patient),

My husband went to the ED department.

Was very impressed with how fast he was accessed by the triage nurse and placed in a cubicle in the ED department.

But unfortunately the story went from amazing to poor once he as admitted to a ward.

Our private health insurance is being charged for my husband to be a private patient, however we are still waiting (2 days presently for an ultrasound ). My husband is in a 4 bed room which is stifling hot.

When I asked the nurse about getting a single room or a 2 bedroom room I was told, "No theses rooms are for patients with cancer or contiguous illness".

Bet you don't feel guilt about charging the big dollars to my insurance company.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Alan Lilly, Chief Executive, Eastern Health 8 years ago
Alan Lilly
Chief Executive,
Eastern Health
Submitted on 15/03/2016 at 7:57 AM
Published on Care Opinion at 11:42 AM

picture of Alan Lilly

Dear Insurance rip off

Thank you for sharing your story on Patient Opinion but very sorry to read about your mixed experiences at Maroondah Hospital. I hope that we can improve things for you.

Firstly, let me reassure you that you have been given the correct advice with regard to the single room but I do understand that you may have had different expectations. As we build newer facilities, thankfully this is becoming less of an issue as we do not build 4 bed rooms anymore. In the meantime, priority for single rooms is indeed given to patients who have very specific needs and as you point out, they are predominantly used for palliative care or where there are infection control requirements to protect patients from infection spreading.

Secondly, I am sorry to read about your delay for Ultrasound. If you wish to send me specific information, I can follow-up for you and will gladly seek more information on your behalf. My email address is

Also, I would like to assure you that there is no charging of "big dollars" to your insurance company. We guarantee that patients will not receive any "out of pocket" costs when they use their private health insurance and we also receive a discounted rate of public funding. However, if you wish to reverse your election status from private to public, I can also arrange that for you. Again, please write to me directly at the above email address with your details and I can arrange that for you.

Finally, I was very pleased to read about your amazing care in ED and I will be sure to pass this onto the ED manager and her team at Maroondah Hospital.

Once again, I am sorry that not everything has been plain-sailing and if you would like me to follow-up on any of these matters, I would be pleased to hear from you. All feedback is good feedback and helps us identify where we do well and where we need to improve. Thanks for taking the time.

kind regards, Alan Lilly.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k