This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Need for more ongoing wound management."

About: Albany Health Campus GPs in the O'Connor Electoral District Hollywood Private Hospital

(as the patient),

I had a cancerous cell removed from my lower leg and a graft to cover the wound. I then had to have the wound redressed at a later date and I was then sent on my way without any real ongoing wound management from the hospital, other than to change the dressing daily and apply an ointment. After presenting to my local Medical Centre a few days later, it was found that my wound was infected and consequently, I was put on a daily routine of presenting to the Medical Centre and having my wound cleaned and redressed. Because of the infection my graft has failed and now after 6 weeks of treatment, I am now back where I started from needing another 5-6 weeks of daily care to try and get my wound to heal. If I had been given a proper ongoing wound management program at the start, I feel that my graft would have been ok and the infection could have been nipped in the bud earlier.

Back in November 2015, I had a total knee replacement with Hollywood Private Hospital and had follow-up care with the Plantagenet Medical Group. The professional care and concern for the patient could not have been better during my stay and the management program set out after hospitalisation could not be faulted. The competent nurses and doctors could not have performed any better. Their care and concern for my recovery was 100% commitment.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Susan Kay, Regional Director, WACHS - Great Southern 6 years ago
Susan Kay
Regional Director,
WACHS - Great Southern
Submitted on 29/08/2016 at 8:44 AM
Published on Care Opinion at 8:44 AM

Dear feral2

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of the Albany Health Campus. I would like to assure you that we value all the feedback that we receive as it helps us to identify areas for improvement.

I am very sorry that following your procedure you have a wound that is still requiring ongoing management some 6 weeks after your original procedure. I am also sorry to hear that you feel you did not receive sufficient information with regards to managing your wound. The risks associated with specific surgical procedures are usually discussed at the initial consultation with your surgeon and these risks are documented on your consent form. Then following your surgical procedure two things normally occur; the doctor who carried out your procedure sends a summary of the procedure and ongoing management information directly to your GP and our nursing team discusses this information with you and provides an information sheet outlining ongoing care requirements after discharge. This information is documented by the different health care professionals in your medical record.

Can I ask you to contact our Consumer Feedback Coordinator, Ceinwen Gearon, via email at<> or on 9892 2284 so that we can ask our Regional Medical and Nurse Directors to review of the care that you received? This will enable us to provide a more detailed response to you.

Once again I am very sorry that you have experienced ongoing difficulties following your procedure and trust that you are now on the way to a full recovery.

With best wishes

Susan Kay

Regional Director


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k