This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"My story"

About: Ipswich Hospital / Emergency Department Queen Elizabeth II Jubilee Hospital

(as the patient),

So I broke my right wrist in the joint. Ipswich Hospital re-set it and plastered. It was still hurting so I went back, got told they did it right and it was all in my head. Made several trips back to the emergency department to make the complaint that there was something wrong, got told it was all in my head. Went and saw my GP where I got a referral to the QEII Hospital and after an x-ray they found that it had been set incorrectly with the ulnar longer that the radius bone. Now on a waiting list for surgery for a plate in my wrist.

I then took my child to Ipswich Hospital with a rolled ankle and trying to follow my own senior first aid asked for an ice pack. I was told, this is an emergency department, we don't have ice packs. I got my child and we left.

Absolutely disgusted with the level of care and lack of understanding. Maybe a refresher course in active listening skills and some compassion would help them all.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Joy Wyatt, Senior Consumer Liaison Officer, Clinical Governance, Queensland Health - West Moreton 7 years ago
Joy Wyatt
Senior Consumer Liaison Officer, Clinical Governance,
Queensland Health - West Moreton
Submitted on 22/09/2016 at 1:30 PM
Published on Care Opinion at 1:31 PM

Dear Kitkat

We are sorry to hear you broke your right wrist and that you now need surgery. Any break is painful and it is disappointing that you felt that you were not listened to when you returned to our emergency department.

We are also sorry that you felt let down by the response you received when you brought your son to our emergency department with a rolled ankle.

At West Moreton we are committed to ongoing improvements in patient care. We would like to speak with you about both of these experiences so we can fully investigate what has happened. We value constructive feedback so we can identify opportunities for improving the service we provide to the community. We would appreciate it if you would contact the Consumer Liaison Office on 0409 275 503 during business hours or you can email us at your convenience. Our email address is Please be assured your contact is welcome and we are sincere in our offer of assistance.

Kind regards

Consumer Liaison Office

West Moreton Hospital and Health Service

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k