This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Mental Health procedure and referral"

About: Broome Health Campus / Mental Health

(as the patient),

Was referred by my GP to Broome Mental Health to have a discussion with the psychiatrist about my current situation and wanting some help. It has taken me a long time to have enough courage to finally speak to someone about my problems and I feel as though the system in Broome, or lack of, has let me down. The psychiatrist I spoke with wrote a letter for me as support to seek further help on my own, recognising that I required further assistance. But unfortunately in Broome we haven't got any available specialist at the moment nor did the psychiatrist know when someone would be available, so I would probably have to go to Perth. Financially I can't afford to do this and this simply is not good enough and I have been left feeling frustrated and disappointed with no results and no help.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Maureen Crowther, Patient Opinion Cordinator, Nursing, WA Country Health Service 7 years ago
Maureen Crowther
Patient Opinion Cordinator, Nursing,
WA Country Health Service

Currently rolling out patient opinion across the Kimberley

Submitted on 3/11/2016 at 12:30 PM
Published on Care Opinion at 1:27 PM

picture of Maureen Crowther

Dear notgoodenough

Thank you for taking the time to write your story on Patient opinion.

I am sorry to hear you are feeling frustrated and disappointed, especially after finding the courage to seek some professional help.

I have referred your story onto the mental health team to investigate and respond and will be keeping a close eye on the progress.

I hope there is a favorable outcome and solution for your ongoing management

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Consultant Psychiatrist, Kimberley Mental Health and Drug Service, WACHS 7 years ago
We are preparing to make a change
Submitted on 22/11/2016 at 3:07 PM
Published on Care Opinion on 23/11/2016 at 11:51 AM

Dear notgoodenough

Thank you for sharing your story. We are really grateful for your feedback and suggestions, as your input is central in guiding how we improve our service.

I'm sorry to hear about your frustrating and disappointing experience. One of our goals is to deliver and facilitate mental health care in the most accessible and sensitive possible way for people, with a focus on your individual needs and preferences. Sometimes, we might not be in the best position to meet someone's particular needs, but even if that is the case, we will do what we can to help you achieve a positive outcome.

I, too, am upset that you weren't able to find the results and/or help that you needed, especially after overcoming the barriers that you faced. To address the issues, I would like to invite you to contact us, in order to clarify the problems, remedy any shortcomings, and together come up with a plan. Would you please be able to get in touch with our Team Leader via front reception at the clinic, so that we can look into it and get the ball rolling? Our reception staff will be able to direct your call to the most appropriate Team Leader once they speak with you. They can be contacted on (08) 91942640.

Once again, thank you for the opportunity to provide better care for you, as well as all consumers and the community. Your input is invaluable and we earnestly appreciate it.

Yours sincerely,

Dr Huu Duy Tran

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k