This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Emergency department"

About: Central Gippsland Health

(as a parent/guardian),

We were visiting from Melbourne when my toddler suffered from what I suspected was a dislocated elbow/arm. Presenting at the hospital on Sale at roughly 10:30 pm we spoke to triage who told us they could not feel a dislocation and we just needed to give my toddler panadol and see how my child goes for 24 hours. Thankfully the triage nurse supplied us with some panadol because we didn't have any and there was obviously nothing open. After a very painful night for my child, lots of tears and a plan to head home in the morning to go to our local hospital in Melbourne, we were dressing my toddler trying to get the extremely painful arm into a t-shirt (that my child screamed if we even touched it) when it quickly popped back into place. Having gone thru this before, we know the sound of it going back into place and it was quite obvious. So my toddler spent a night in excruciating pain even after having 4 hourly panadol because a triage nurse (?) made a call that I am now questioning if they were even qualified to make. I'm absolutely disgusted and will be taking this further until we receive an apology from the medical 'professional' that gave us some horrible advice. Examining a child for 90 seconds (that is screaming in pain saying it hurts) and sending them on their way with panadol is not good enough.

Tags added by staff members:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Frank Evans, Chief Executive Officer, Central Gippsland Health 7 years ago
Frank Evans
Chief Executive Officer,
Central Gippsland Health
Submitted on 17/03/2017 at 2:52 PM
Published on Care Opinion at 3:31 PM

picture of Frank Evans

Dear MelbournianJKT

I am concerned to read your story and very sorry that you and your child had such a distressful night.

What you have described does not fit with the standard of care we are striving for at Central Gippsland Health Service.

We have implemented a number of improvements in our emergency department recently and we have received some very encouraging feedback. Unfortunately it appears we did not get it right for you and your child. I am especially concerned if your child was not seen by a doctor?

Would you be happy to talk to me or provide me with more information by email?

I would like to be able to investigate what has happened and provide you more detailed feedback.

I can be contacted by phone on 0351438660 or by email at:

I hope to hear from you.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k