"Saying no does not seem to mean anything."

About: Maroondah Hospital

(as a relative),

My mother is an inpatient at Maroondah Hospital, Eastern Health and requires inpatient rehabilitation. Yesterday during discussion about the rehab options she stated that she did not want to go to Angliss due to its location. My sister and I live in the Northern and Western suburbs so Peter James is more suitable for a range of reasons. Later in the afternoon she was offered a place at Angliss and she again confirmed that she would not go there as she had previously explained. There were comments such as I am not sure what the NUM (Nurse Unit Manager) will say about this etc. and that it would be a couple of days before a place would be available at Peter James. The ANUM (Assistant Nurse Unit Manager) discussed this morning with my mother again about Angliss and this time my mother stated that she would go home which would be unsafe rather than go to Angliss. Shortly after this the ambulance arrived on the ward to take her to Angliss! ! ! My sister happened to be at the nurses station to follow up what was happening so was able to prevent the ambulance from going to my mother. (What a waste of precious ambulance resources too). My mother is distressed about her experience and her legitimate preference not being listened to. We all appreciate the pressure on the health system as my sister and I work in it - we also wonder where the values of compassion and person centred care fit with the experience of, in my opinion, being bullied to go somewhere that is not in the persons best interest.

My father was also in Maroondah last year and I believe we had a similar experience of bullying, poor communication and threatening behaviour of staff that seem to come from a focus on beds and access at any cost rather than on people. I should have put in a complaint about my father's experience and I am deeply concerned that this culture has continued with my mother despite receiving excellent nursing and physiotherapy care. What will it take for kindness and compassion to be part of the experience!

Responses

Response from David Plunkett, Chief Executive, Eastern Health 3 years ago
David Plunkett
Chief Executive,
Eastern Health
Submitted on 23/06/2017 at 06:17
Published on Care Opinion at 08:51


picture of David Plunkett

Dear Distressed daughter,

I would like to thank you for your feedback on Patient Opinion and would like to apologise that we have not provided as positive experience as we would all like to for both this experience and also for your father's experience whilst they were inpatients at Maroondah Hospital.

I note you have also contacted us directly through our electronic feedback mechanism, which will mean the specific issues and concerns you have raised can be followed up and responded to. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the nursing and physiotherapy care your father received.

I can assure you, we will use your experiences to learn from in order to provide more positive experiences for all patients who use our service as we delicately balance the individual needs of patients with minimizing waiting times for all patients.

Kind regards and many thanks

David

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from David Plunkett, Chief Executive, Eastern Health 2 years ago
David Plunkett
Chief Executive,
Eastern Health
Submitted on 28/07/2017 at 17:26
Published on Care Opinion on 31/07/2017 at 08:25


picture of David Plunkett

Dear Distressed daughter,

Thank you again for providing your feedback via Patient Opinion and for providing your feedback directly to the Eastern Health Centre for Patient Experience.

Following your feedback and investigation by the clinical team, I understand the Program Director has been in contact with you and your sister, apologised for the experience you and your mother had and confirmed that we plan to use your experience as a learning opportunity.

Please accept my apologies again for your experience and thank you for assisting us to improve the experience for all patients and families.

Kind regards

David

  • Distressed daughter thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by Distressed daughter (a relative)

Dear David

Thank you for your response and the time taken by Paul, Program Director and others to investigate our concerns. We have valued your apologies but more importantly your commitment to try and ensure other people have a different experience.

Thanks again for taking our concerns seriously and responding in a thoughtful and effective way. We wish Eastern Health all the best as they meet the challenges of providing health care to people of the East of Melbourne.