This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Esperance Hospital"

About: Esperance Health Campus

(as a relative),

My elderly mum had a fall and after visiting her doctor. He decided to have her arm put in a cast. We went on 2 separate occasions to the Esperance Hospital for treatment and both times we sat in the waiting area for over 6 hours. No, I am not kidding you! ! The nurses were very good in letting us know there was nothing they could do. There was just more urgent cases. We understood that but it did not help my mum who continued to fade the longer we sat and waited. The 2nd time it was close to 9pm before we got out (we had arrived at 1: 30pm) and she had not eaten and was extremely tired. I know there will always be more important people who need urgent attention but waiting that long was deplorable. We are not generally complainers but I felt that I had to let someone know. We have this beautiful facility with lovely gardens and a million dollar sculpture out front but no staff. Lastly, at 8: 30pm when we finally saw the doctor he took 35 seconds to confirm it was ok to plaster but snapped at me when I asked how much longer this would take. I was beyond shocked that he could be so arrogant and dismissive.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Carol Erlank, A/Regional Director, WACHS - Goldfields 6 years ago
Carol Erlank
A/Regional Director,
WACHS - Goldfields
Submitted on 21/08/2017 at 12:38 PM
Published on Care Opinion at 1:00 PM

Dear JKZ

Thank you for taking the time to write, your feedback is important to us. I hope that your mother is now recovering as quickly as possible.

I am sorry that you had to wait for a long period with your mother. The health service monitors Emergency Department waiting times carefully and aims to minimise delays as much as is possible through management of resources such as staffing. However, unfortunately, we do experience surges in presentations which requires that we clinically prioritise patients and your understanding of this is appreciated.

I am disappointed that our medical staff portrayed arrogant and dismissive behaviour. Such behaviour does not align with the values of our organisation and I thank you for bringing this to my attention so I can address this.

Kind Regards

Carol Erlank

A/Regional Director

WACHS Goldfields

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k