"Made to feel like I don't exist"

About: Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

(as the patient),

Recently I was admitted to hospital, and was speaking with the doctor. I felt like when they came up to me to discuss my treatment that they treated me like I didn’t exist. I felt they would constantly talk over me. I tried to ask questions, but they just wouldn’t allow it.

When I finally spoke up and said that enough was enough and that they needed to listen to me and treat me like a person, they I believe threatened me with restraints and a ‘code black’.

I thought patients were supposed to participate in their treatment and ask questions to make sure they understood the next steps and what was going to happen?!


Response from Theresa Marshall, A/Executive Director, Womens and Newborn Health Service, North Metropolitan Health Service 2 years ago
Theresa Marshall
A/Executive Director, Womens and Newborn Health Service,
North Metropolitan Health Service
Submitted on 27/10/2017 at 14:37
Published on Care Opinion at 14:37

Dear poor treatment,

Thank you for taking the time to tell me of your experience while an inpatient at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital (SCGH). I am saddened to hear of your negative experience especially given that our motto is ‘We Put Patient’s First’. As you have pointed out this would mean involving the patient in their care while being respectful, showing compassion, patience and understanding. Clearly, in this case, we have not achieved this and put simply there is no excuse for the way in which you have been treated.

I am grateful for the feedback that you have provided and I would like to reassure you that this will be used to reinforce the importance of providing ‘compassionate clinical care’. The hospital has a number of regular forums which are used to provide feedback to staff on areas for improvement. Your story will be presented and discussed at the next Staff Forum and staff in charge of inpatient areas will be asked to emphasise this at each of their team meetings.

I appreciate that this experience must have been distressing for you and should you wish to have it investigated formally to enable a more directed response to the staff involved I would encourage you to contact either myself on 6457 3301 or Dr Theresa Marshall Director Safety, Quality and Performance on 6457 1065.

I trust that you are on the mend and should you require care at our hospital in the future I hope that we can provide you with an improved patient experience.

Kind regards

Dr Theresa Marshall, Director of Safety, Quality and Performance

Sir Charles Gairdner and Osborne Park Health Care Group

On behalf of

Tony Dolan

Executive Director

Sir Charles Gairdner and Osborne Park Health Care Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /