"Car Accident"

About: Joondalup Health Campus / Emergency Department

(as the patient),

Went to ED at Joondalup Hospital they did not pick up the injuries that I had.

Missed damaged gallbladder and missed the nose injury. I was only given x-ray on my right ribs. Which does not pick up gallbladder. So for months I was in agony . Until I went for CT scan and found out what I had. Took myself to hospital and was operated on the next day. Next was my nose in which I could hardly breathe correctly - again I took it in my own hands to investigate. Got a  CT scan on my nose to find out that it has collapsed and I had a complete blockage. Breathing has not been easy. I am disappointed in how I have been treated with regards to these injuries. I am now getting an operation by Medicare with regards to the nose operation - after three years. I lost my house and job with regards to this crash which was not my fault.  In my opinion we have a shocking health system. 


Response from Care Opinion Australia 2 years ago
Submitted on 28/11/2017 at 17:45
Published on Care Opinion at 17:46

The following response has been published by Patient Opinion Australia on behalf of Joondalup Health Campus:

Dear Bankie

I am sorry to hear about your experience. It is very difficult to address the specifics without some further details and I encourage you to contact us by calling the Joondalup Health Campus Consumer Liaison team on (08) 9400 9672 so we can investigate this and provide you with a more comprehensive response.

Yours sincerely

Kempton Cowan

Chief Executive Officer

Joondalup Health Campus

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Bankie (the patient)

I had already been in contact with Customer Liaison Team with regards to this. Got a letter of apology from them. Which I guess is a standard procedure. All little too late. I don’t think Joondalup has a good reputation at all. My understanding is that none of friends go there due to staff behaviour and how they are treated. They would rather go to Midland Hospital. And I feel the same. There are faults in the system. Which need to be changed and implemented. Until this is done it will just be a never-ending list of complaints. And just maybe if everyone done their job correctly that would be a start in the right direction.

Response from Ramsay - Joondalup Health Campus nearly 2 years ago
Submitted on 29/08/2018 at 17:16
Published on Care Opinion on 30/08/2018 at 10:43

Dear Bankie,

Thank you for sharing your story and I would like to re-iterate how very sorry I am to hear about your experience with us.

As you are posting anonymously, even though you have been in touch with our Consumer Liaison Team, it is difficult for me to respond to the additional issues you have raised without knowing who you are.

You mention staff behaviour – a concern that was not raised in your initial complaint on this website, but one which I would be happy to investigate. I know the staff in the Emergency Department really do pride themselves on providing a service where patients are treated with respect and would share my concern that you and your friends have not experienced this.

As such, if you are willing to share your contact details with the administrators of this website and allow them to forward these to me, then I would be happy to arrange for our Senior Consultant for Patient Safety to reach out to you.

What I can say, regarding the other aspects of your complaint, is that our Emergency Department doctors make judgements on what tests and investigations are appropriate based on what symptoms a patient presents with.

I do encourage you to provide your details so we can explore your complaint in greater detail and provide you with answers to any other questions you may have about your treatment here or help clarify anything.

Kind regards,

Kempton Cowan

Chief Executive Officer

Joondalup Health Campus

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful