"Turned down for a DEXA scan"

About: Maroondah Hospital

(as the patient),

I was turned down for a DEXA scan as I have dye injected for another MRI done within 7 days.

The hospital should advise parameters that will be a show stopper for a DEXA scan during booking times and send the questionnaire to the patient. I feel this is highly recommended for the hospital's operating procedures, moving forward.

I was not happy at all as I have made the appointment, made the effort to go to Maroondah Hospital and invested my time (an hour and a half).  I also had to cancel my other appointments.

I also had a bad experience prior to this with Maroondah Hospital!

Disappointed and deeply frustrated.


Response from David Plunkett, Chief Executive, Eastern Health 2 years ago
David Plunkett
Chief Executive,
Eastern Health
Submitted on 25/01/2018 at 08:57
Published on Care Opinion at 09:55

picture of David Plunkett

Dear porsche168

Thank you so much for providing your feedback on Patient Opinion. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your experience was not a positive one.

You have made a terrific suggestion that I will pass onto the team to see what can be done and hopefully prevent this occurring to someone else in the future.

In your post, you also mention you have had a bad experience at Maroondah Hospital in the past. I would welcome you making contact with the Eastern Health Centre for Patient Experience via either feedback@easternhealth.org.au or 1800EASTERN.

Many thanks and kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful