"Mesh Clinic Appointments"

About: King Edward Memorial Hospital

(as the patient),

I've had 2 appointments by letter and turned up to the appointments to be told I didn't have any booked that day. For one of those appointments my husband even took time off from work to be there with me for support, (unpaid which he couldn't afford to do). 

That one I was seen for 10 mins, then found out on my next appointment that I'd been passed over to the Urogynaecology Clinic & was told by the nurse their I wasn't in the Mesh Clinic anymore, as I was supposedly not bad enough for the mesh clinic. That is the whole purpose of me going there in the first place. It's a long way from home so I put myself out. I didn't ask for this awful stuff to be inside of me. 

Another time was I rang to confirm my Physio App was still on & the receptionist told me I had missed an appointment a week before, but my physio was on holiday so I didn't even have an appointment in the first place. 

I also had a 3D scan done, when I asked for the pictures they claimed they didn't have them. I acquired them through freedom of information. It's all too hard!


Response from Graeme Boardley, Director, Midwifery, Nursing and Patient Support Services, Women and Newborn Health Service, King Edward Memorial Hospital 2 years ago
Graeme Boardley
Director, Midwifery, Nursing and Patient Support Services, Women and Newborn Health Service,
King Edward Memorial Hospital
Submitted on 17/04/2018 at 12:43
Published on Care Opinion at 12:46

picture of Graeme Boardley

Dear Cruisie,

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. I am sorry that you have had this experience with our Mesh Clinic. We have identified some problems with processing of appointments and have put steps in place to rectify these issues.

In relation to you saying that you have been passed over to the Urogynaecology Clinic, please be assured that this service is provided by the same group of sub-specialists. The Mesh Clinic undertakes the initial assessment with ongoing care being provided where most appropriate.

As you have identified some other issues with your Physio appointment and scans, I encourage you to phone my office on 6458 1466, so that I can discuss these with you to facilitate further investigation. I may not be available when you call but will phone you back as soon as I can.

Once again, thank you for raising these matters with us and I apologise that you have been inconvenienced.

Kind Regards,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /