"Broken Ankle"

About: Royal Perth Hospital / Elective & Emergency Orthopaedic Surgery & Bone Tissue Bank

(as the patient),

I basically sat in a chair with a broken ankle for 8 hours no food or drink & no idea of what was happening for the entire duration only to have my surgery cancelled and rescheduled. 

I had a great experience leading up to surgery, however come the day of surgery I was admitted at 6:30am - by 10am I asked for an update on the status of my surgery with no response. This was then repeated again at 12pm and 2pm, again with no response At 3pm I was advised that the surgery had been cancelled & I would be discharged until further notice. Later that night I was then advised that the surgery could possibly be performed 4 days later, however this would require confirmation in 2 days time.

After dissatisfaction from my experience I caught a taxi to a private practice for a second opinion. Surgery was recommended immediately to mitigate complications with the broken / fractured bones re-setting / bonding prior to being re-set into the correct place & stabilised for the healing process.

I completely understand that emergencies arise and certain surgeries require prioritisation over others, however I feel the manner I was dealt with was extremely unprofessional & communication with the patients was completely lacking.



Response from Lesley Bennett, Executive Director, Royal Perth Bentley Group 2 years ago
We have made a change
Lesley Bennett
Executive Director,
Royal Perth Bentley Group
Submitted on 31/07/2018 at 10:16
Published on Care Opinion at 10:55

picture of Lesley Bennett

Dear NAA,

Thank you for taking the time to write and I’m pleased to hear you had a great experience leading up to surgery. I would like to express my apologies for the cancellation of your surgery and the lack of information you received around this. Unfortunately, as you have recognised, surgeries sometimes do need to be rescheduled due to emergency cases taking precedence. However, it is not acceptable for our patients to be left out of the loop and not informed if there are delays or cancellations as soon as we are aware there may be an issue. We recognise that this is an area where we must improve.

Since reading this feedback, I have discussed your experience with our operations team and we have changed the way our nurses work on the admissions ward so that one nurse is now always allocated the responsibility to provide regular updates for any patient who is waiting in the ward for surgery.

Thank you again for your comments.


Dr Lesley Bennett

Director of Clinical Services

Royal Perth Bentley Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /