"Lack of continuity of midwifery care and no option of waterbirth"

About: Joondalup Health Campus

(as the patient),

I am currently pregnant with my second child and am due later in the year. I am a public patient and my catchment hospital is Joondalup Health Campus in Perth, WA. I am really unhappy about the different levels of care and options available to women depending on which hospital you fall into catchment for. I believe it is wrong that not all women have the same opportunities when it comes to their birth and that they shouldn't be discriminated against solely due to their geographical location. I find it really disappointing that when there is so much research out there to support the continuity model of women-centred, midwifery-led care, that it seems that is not available as standard practice in all hospitals, and specifically Joondalup Health Campus.

Likewise, I find it incredibly upsetting that when the benefits of water births, both to the mother and baby, are widely acknowledged and documented that again this is not something offered at Joondalup Health Campus. What makes it even harder for me is that for my first baby I experienced great continuity of midwifery care and also had a water birth so I know what I am potentially missing out on! I find it really frustrating and distressing that just because I now live in a different location both of those things are unavailable to me. I think that in this day and age with all of the research available, offering water births to expectant mothers should be standard practice. If a hospital doesn't have the facilities then they should be investing in them and in the interim offering inflatable birthing pools or facilitating a mother who wants a water birth to birth at a different hospital with these facilities. Having a baby is an emotional time and having the added stress of not even having the option of the type of care or type of birth you would like is completely unacceptable.  


Response from Ramsay - Joondalup Health Campus nearly 2 years ago
Submitted on 11/09/2018 at 22:32
Published on Care Opinion on 12/09/2018 at 09:10

Hello Unhappy Expectant Mother

I am saddened to read that you are disappointed with the services available for pregnant women at Joondalup Health Campus.

Thank you for providing us with thoughtful feedback about these services and how you feel they could be improved or extended to enhance the experience for expectant mothers and their families.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you or meet with you so that we can go through your specific care needs together and make sure that we are providing you with all the appropriate support and to respond to the issues you have raised.

If you wish to speak with me or meet with me, please can you contact our consumer liaison service on 08 9400 9672 or consumerliaison.jhc@ramsayhealth.com.au who will be happy to make the relevant arrangements. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best wishes

Dr C Neppe

Director of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, JHC

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful