"Mental Health Treatment"

About: Graylands Hospital

(as the patient),

Go to the hospital for suicide watch and mental health treatment. I wasn't in a good place and this is the last option in this situation. I was never expecting to go home, only to quickly spiral and get worse than I was when originally admitted. All I was told on discharge is that I was better, no longer required their service and to go home.

After going home, I was sick for weeks without explanation, only to find out (after recovering) severe benzo drug withdrawal from a medication not even mentioned on discharge (clonazepam) was the cause.

I was severely disappointed with the lack of care and support provided, and lack of proper medication tapering off as needed with benzodiazepines and other physically addictive medicines.

It was clear there is no long term solutions for patients, it seems they're more interested in prescription drugs until your problem is masked and then in my opinion, sending you home to free up the bed. I believe Graylands was clearly understaffed and many staff need further training in many aspects of mental health like personality disorders and social anxieties. I should never have been subjected to the sudden withdrawal of clonazepam on discharge, undertaken by a leading doctor and clinical psychologist and never once mentioned in a meeting just prior to discharge or anytime during treatment.

Honestly if I could go back, I would have been far better off fighting it alone. I believe seeking help (hospitalisation) was the worst decision I could have made. Hopefully no one else suffers through the experience I endured at Graylands psychiatric hospital, and the recovery afterwards.


Response from Roslyn Elmes, Executive Director, Mental Health, Public Health & Dental Services, North Metropolitan Health Service nearly 2 years ago
Roslyn Elmes
Executive Director, Mental Health, Public Health & Dental Services,
North Metropolitan Health Service
Submitted on 03/12/2018 at 10:25
Published on Care Opinion at 10:26

Dear learningyf97

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. I am very sorry that you have had this experience with our service and that the interactions you had with our staff were not more supportive and caring.

A discussion regarding your treatment and medication regime and post discharge follow up should occur as part of discharge planning and should include your nominated support/carer. I sincerely apologise that this did not occur. You have also expressed concerns regarding staffing levels and training opportunities for staff at Graylands Hospital. I would like to reassure you that the staffing levels at Graylands Hospital are reviewed on a regular basis and all staff have access to all training opportunities.

Your feedback is very important to us and we understand how disappointing it can be when expectations are not met. Dr Heble, Head of Clinical Services would be happy to meet with you or call you to discuss your concerns further. If you would like this to occur, I encourage you to contact the Stakeholder Liaison Officer on (08) 9242 9612 or email feedback.NMHSMH@health.wa.go.au.

Kind regards,

Ros Elmes

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /