"Occupational therapist"

About: Albany Health Campus / Occupational Therapy

(as the patient),

I recently spent time on the sub acute ward of Albany, and have just sent a story in singing the praises of all staff there. Sadly this is a complaint about the occupational therapist involved with my discharge. I wish to stress this is the OT (occupational therapist) on the ward who was beyond excellent.

Some of the OT staff were responsible for a wheelchair on my discharge, I have recently had a right leg amputation. In my opinion, their lack of a duty of care was astounding and quite honestly they have sent me home in a totally unsuitable chair.

I am supposed to exercise in this chair, but I don't even feel safe in it. The arms are unstable and the seat has a gaping hole in the back which allows my pressure cushion to escape, so I've had no choice but to take the cushion out. The wheels are far too narrow and the chair is very hard for me to push, I also have a heart condition. I believe the attitude of the OT staff was accept it or buy my own. She didn't seem to care.

I admit that I was given the choice of three chairs, all within the last 24 hours before discharge, when for more than three weeks she had done nothing, but knew I was due to go home soon.

I am involved with an outside sourced OT and she admits there are concerns with my chair. I've also been accessed by My Aged Care and referred to Silver Chain OT for review of my chair. The OT on the sub acute ward who I have already said was beyond good, also has some concerns. If these other OT's can see a problem, what's wrong with the one who can't seem to see a problem? Does she even care? Even more importantly, whatever happened to her sense of Duty of Care?

It really goes against my grain to complain like this, after all the chair is free and the work of the sub acute ward was excellent. I don't think I've ever written a letter of complaint against anyone in the many years of my life, but I feel so badly treated by this girl that I need to say something.


Response from Juan Clark, Operations Manager, Operations, Albany Health Campus, WACHS Great Southern 14 months ago
Juan Clark
Operations Manager, Operations,
Albany Health Campus, WACHS Great Southern
Submitted on 07/03/2019 at 18:19
Published on Care Opinion on 08/03/2019 at 09:53

Dear Chuffed

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at Albany Health Campus. I am very sorry you have been caused distress around equipment on your discharge home.

We view feedback such as yours as an opportunity to identify areas for improvement, however, in order for us to investigate this comprehensibly and talk to the team caring for you, we will need to be able to identify you.

If you are happy for us to commence an investigation into the issues you have raised, please contact Joanne Clark, Albany Health Campus Allied Health Coordinator on 9892 2464 who will be able to assist you.

With best wishes,

Juan Clark

Operations Manager


  • Chuffed thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too