"Information about hospital"

About: Armadale Hospital / Pre Admission Clinic

(as the patient),

I attended the Pre Admission Clinic last week. I have no complaints about that whatsoever. However, I have been given no information about the wards.

1. How many beds can I expect to find in my ward?

2. Will I have access to a TV?

3. Will I have access to a radio?

4. Using a mobile phone? 

5. Availability of WiFi.

I have Googled the hospital and have found out the visiting hours, but as I expect to be in hospital 3-4 days I would like these questions answered.

Responses

Response from Diane Barr, Executive Director, Armadale Kalamunda Group 13 months ago
We are preparing to make a change
Diane Barr
Executive Director,
Armadale Kalamunda Group
Submitted on 04/06/2019 at 11:16
Published on Care Opinion at 11:21


picture of Diane Barr

Dear horlyx,

Thank you for getting in contact with us.

I am glad to hear that you have no complaints about your recent experience at Armadale Hospital. I am however sorry that you have not been provided with any information or been able to locate this on our website with regards to your stay.

Acknowledging your feedback we are now discussing this problem with our communications team. We are considering how we can improve verbal and written information during pre-admission and on our website.

In the interim the team have provided some answers to your questions;

Our overnight surgical ward rooms are between one to six beds and are allocated to patients based on clinical need. Most beds at the hospital have overhead TV screens which are available to rent for standard free-to-air digital channels and movie channels. Unfortunately there are no radio facilities on the ward.

Both you and your visitors may absolutely use mobile phones, however we just ask that you refrain from doing so during clinical assessments or when signs indicate that mobile phones are not to be used. Telephones are also available at no cost for incoming calls, however outgoing calls are charged at various rates which you will be advised on at admission. Unfortunately at the current time the hospital does not have public Wi-Fi; however we are actively planning for Wi-Fi and hope to implement in the future.

I fully acknowledge the above is just a snapshot of information and you may want to expand discussion. If you have further questions about your upcoming stay the Pre-Admission Clinic have advised they would welcome the opportunity to assist, you can contact them on (08) 9391 2194. As a result of your valuable feedback, we hope to improve communication for future patients, visitors, families and/or carers.

Thank you again for taking the time to write to us, and all the best for your upcoming procedure.

Di Barr

Executive Director

Armadale Kalamunda Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful