Still waiting time for an appointment following referral request

(as the patient),

STORY HAS A RESPONSE

This story has had a response

About: Kalbarri Health Centre

I’m feeling angry and let down once again from the Kalbarri Medical Service. This time I pulled a groin muscle. I saw a doctor at the doctor's surgery several weeks ago. The doctor gave me a referral to see the physio that comes to Kalbarri once a week. I walked over to the Medical Centre and gave them my referral. They faxed it through to Geraldton and told me that I will hear from them soon.

Well several weeks later no phone call, no appointment. What kind of service is that, I say no service at all.  I felt I had to ask other people what kind of exercises I should be doing. I received some advice, but who knows if it was the correct advice.

My groin is no longer painful but from time to time I will move in a certain way and it still hurts.  I just can’t believe that this has happened again to me. A complete waste of money going to the doctors. Feeling annoyed.

Share this page

Responses to this story

Response from Michele Young, Coordinator Executive Services, Executive Services, WACHS - Midwest

picture of Michele Young

Dear Tendon Repair,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Patient Opinion. I was disappointed and very sorry that you have experienced our service in this way as it does not meet the service standards we strive for.

We would really like an opportunity to discuss the concerns you have raised to see where we can help and we would be grateful if you could contact us as this will allow us to investigate this matter. The contact details for Aasta Abbott, Coordinator of Allied Health are 9956 2223 or 0418 745 780 or Aasta.Abbott@health.wa.gov.au or alternatively, you can contact me on 9956 8695 or Michele.Young@health.wa.gov.au. Your call would be very welcomed and can still be addressed anonymously if you wish.

Thank you again for getting in touch, we really appreciate your feedback for without it we would not be aware of the issues and would not have the opportunity to improve our service.

I look forward to hearing from you very soon.

Kind regards

Michele

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story