"At the bottom of the important list"

About: King Edward Memorial Hospital / Maternity

(as a relative),

Hospital called us to come in on the weekend recently for early induction I believe. 

From then on, I feel we have been put at the bottom of the important list. 

My wife has been in hospital since that morning. It’s now the afternoon a few days later.

The stress this is putting on my wife and my unborn child. 

I feel it is not good enough, staff shortages or not. If my wife’s water broke, I’m sure the staff would be found really fast.

This is not good enough in my opinion. And the health minister has been advised.

Responses

Response from Jessica Pougnault, A/Director, Safety, Quality, Performance and Organisational Culture, Women and Newborn Health Service 2 weeks ago
Jessica Pougnault
A/Director, Safety, Quality, Performance and Organisational Culture,
Women and Newborn Health Service
Submitted on 26/03/2020 at 12:40
Published on Care Opinion at 13:02


Dear izarsd57

Thank you for taking the time to contact us in relation to the care you received.

I wish to extend my sincere apologies that we failed to meet your expectations when you were brought in for induction.

The Labour and Birth suite experiences the constant challenge of having to prioritise patients according to clinical need that changes frequently. We are sorry that we were facing such a high demand for services that meant you were not able to be treated as soon as we’d like. I can assure you that the safety of you and your baby is of the utmost priority and continual monitoring is done to ensure that there is no risk. However, I agree that your wait was not ideal nor the experience of care that we strive for as a health service.

I note that there has been some delay in responding to your story and apologise for that. I trust that you have since welcomed your baby.

If you still have concerns, please contact the Consumer Liaison Service on (08) 6458 1444.

I wish you and your family all the very best.

Kind regards,

Jessica Pougnault,

A/Director Safety, Quality, Performance and Organisational Culture

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful