This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Maternity Ward"

About: St George Hospital / 1 South Maternity

(as the patient),

I am writing this in regards to the service and treatment provided to me. It is a very unfortunate situation that I am writing this story as a complaint.

I was admitted to the maternity ward after I had an operation procedure as my baby was in breach position. I was taken to ward after recovery due to the caesarean section. I was not even able to move as my lower half of the body was numb as a part of the procedure.

I never expected that I would be treated, in my opinion, like a trash. I do not have an idea that I was treated because I am not from an Australian background. I believe each and every time I called for help as I was not able to move my body, the midwives came after an hour. My baby was hungry because my milk took longer to activate. I could not able to change my baby's nappy due to the numbness of my pelvis - lower leg. It is very sad that the midwives that looked after me did not have any empathy in my opinion.

I had requested most of the midwives that I saw to help me till I get on my feet and I believe I faced complete negligence from them. My baby went to sleep after crying from hunger for an hour. After an hour one midwife turned up and also I was told by them that my baby was sleeping. I felt that it is a disgrace as a midwife. 

Only Amy on her shift come to me as soon as possible on her shift. I thank you to Amy and I wish there would be some more midwives like Amy. 

There was another issue that one of the midwives had infected from COVID-19 and I was called for a swab test and they were not performing, which put me on immense pressure and I was in a worrying state. However, I had to tell them that I am worried and in case of failure to perform swab, can lead me to complain. 

Similar issues I faced when I called them to book for the test of my baby, I was told not to come. I did have to talk to the manager and let them know that, in my opinion, discrimination is taking place in community health care, which was assigned by St. George Hospital. 

I am not sure why, in my opinion, I was treated like trash and I believe it shows the standards of St. George Hospital. Now, I feel sometimes saddened by the events and treatment during my stay at maternity ward. I also like to raise an issue that there is no complaint section on the website of St. George Hospital.

At last, I am looking forward to hearing from the hospital.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Paul Darcy, General Manager, St George Hospital 2 years ago
Paul Darcy
General Manager,
St George Hospital

General Manager of St George Hospital

Submitted on 7/05/2020 at 2:30 PM
Published on Care Opinion at 2:30 PM

Dear starkd95,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at St George Hospital. I was saddened to read that your experience caused you distress and to hear that you felt you were treated poorly. We strive to provide a high level of service at St George Hospital and it was very disappointing to read your story.

I would like to thank you for reaching out to our Consumer Feedback email and I believe that the Patient Experience Manager has been in touch with you. We appreciate your feedback and take it very seriously. We will be in touch with you once we have conducted an investigation into the concerns you have raised.

If you have any questions in the meantime, please contact Ms Kath Helling, Patient Experience Manager, St George Hospital on 9113 2687 or by email at

Yours sincerely,

Paul Darcy

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k