"Having a baby"

About: Royal Hospital for Women / Maternity Outpatients

(as the patient),

I had my baby 37 hrs after my waters broke. I labored for 9 of those with no progression, leading to an epidural. Then I went for emergency caesarean where I required a spinal also. All the above was not the issue, just a background story.

I was obviously tired, distressed etc. Because I had the baby in surgery, I had to go straight to the room on the ward so I didn't have time to spend with my baby along with my spouse in a delivery room. When I got to the shared room (the other mother had not arrived) my spouse had to leave, I believe because of the room situation and the visitor time was over. We had 10 minutes together as a family.

I found this so distressing. I was tired, in pain, emotional, exhausted with no sleep for nearly 40 hrs. Also, my baby was crying so much, yet the nurse couldn't comfort them. Also, I was not offered a meal that evening or night. The sliding sheet/purple blanket was left under me all night and I had a pressure sore. I am a nurse and requested for this to be removed, however, was told it was moved in the morning, which I now know to be untrue.

I was told, here is your pain relief, have a rest but don't fall asleep. The pain relief didn't work as I was 7/10 pain, being told I can be reviewed when the doctor comes to the ward. I waited for hours. It has taken me nearly two years to write this. I believe it was a big factor, along with the trauma that added to my PND. I truly felt totally unsupported.


Environment

Environment


Visitors

Visitors


Pain relief

Pain relief


Room

Room


Responses

Response from Vanessa Madunic, General Manager, Royal Hospital for Women 2 weeks ago
Vanessa Madunic
General Manager,
Royal Hospital for Women
Submitted on 23/06/2020 at 10:48
Published on Care Opinion at 10:49


Dear perseusqn66,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at RHW. I was very disappointed to read of your experience as described. We always aim to provide an excellent standard of care and meet the needs of the women and families who access our service. Feedback such as yours is very valuable for our managers and clinicians.

We are very committed to improving our service around the feedback you have provided. I write to invite you to attend a formal debrief regarding your care. This is an opportunity for the manager Postnatal Services to review your care with you with reference to your medical record and hold a meaningful discussion regarding your experience. You may elect to attend the debrief in person or, if you are concerned regarding the COVID 19 situation, we could organise a teleconference with you to hold the discussion by phone. If we can be of assistance in this way please contact Ms Maxine Hamilton on 93826822 to arrange an appointment.

May I take this opportunity to apologise that we did not meet your needs.

Thanks

Vanessa Madunic, General Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful