"Very slack service"

About: Joondalup Health Campus / General surgery

(as the patient),

Was given food I was physically unable to eat due to oxygen drying my mouth out, I was starving. Luckily I had put some snacks in my bag. I was physically sick only hours after surgery, I was very unsteady on my feet, sat in the shower and left to sort myself out. 

Shift change, then the night nurse told me no extra pillows, I needed one for my knee as waiting for knee replacement. It seemed they were too busy to put pressure stockings on. I buzzed again later, the next nurse told me to wait for the previous nurse. I advised they were too busy. The nurse finally put the stockings on, I believe one incorrectly, which caused pain in my foot.

For a private hospital, in my opinion, I got substandard care. I put in a complaint and was told sorry and I should have complained at the time to the nurse manager. 


Response from Paul Taylor-Byrne, Deputy Director of Clinical Services - Acute Care, Ramsay - Joondalup Health Campus 3 weeks ago
Paul Taylor-Byrne
Deputy Director of Clinical Services - Acute Care,
Ramsay - Joondalup Health Campus
Submitted on 09/11/2020 at 14:15
Published on Care Opinion at 14:19

picture of Paul Taylor-Byrne

Dear pyxisbn96

Thank you for your feedback relating to your recent stay at Joondalup Private Hospital, we are disappointed that you left our hospital feeling that you were uncared for, as this is not the level of service we expect from our staff.

I would like to provide some background around the management of complaints at Joondalup Health Campus. When a complaint is received by the Consumer Liaison Team, it is routine that the Manager of the department and other relevant stakeholders are contacted to investigate thoroughly any concerns and provide feedback to the Consumer Liaison Team.

I am pleased, however, to read that you formally registered your concerns with the Consumer Liaison Team. Our consumer liaison service acknowledged your concerns and discussed these with the Clinical Nurse Manager of the ward. We informed you that the Clinical Nurse Manager offered her sincere apologies to you that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. The manager has shared your experience with the nursing team.

We do encourage that concerns be raised by our patients while they are in our care. This is so that issues can be acted upon by the nurse manager, and other relevant members of the team, with the aim of ensuring optimal care for the remaining time in hospital. It is only through feedback that we can continue to improve care.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we wish you all the best in your with your recovery.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Taylor-Byrne

Acting Director of Clinical Services

Joondalup Health Campus

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /