This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Poor treatment by nursing staff"

About: Canberra Hospital / Emergency Department Canberra Hospital / General surgery

(as the patient),

I was sent to Canberra Hospital from another hospital due to I needed an animal bite washed out, cleaned and stitched up. The doctors at the other hospital rang through, spoke to the plastics team and I was heading straight across to have it done right away. I arrived at Canberra Hospital around midday, sat in ED till mid-afternoon transferred to Day Surgery Unit to have my operation. I still didn't go in for it as I believe there was an emergency come through which is understandable, and the surgeon came out, went over everything with me and stated I would be first in late in the afternoon. Then another emergency through and the surgeon came back and told me there are 4 of us that need operation tonight, but due to personal reason, I have to get home. So the surgeon stated I would be first in and they would do it under local so I could leave straight afterwards to get home.

An hour and a few minutes later and they come out to start getting us, I pull this nurse up and asked them, would I be going in now as the surgeon said I would be first from the 4 of us as I needed to get home. I felt the nurse rudely stated that I would be last on the list as I was last up there when I stated what I was told. They told me it was too bad and I would go in when they give the paperwork to them, I stated well I need to go home due to.. (my personal reasons), the nurse stated oh well. I asked for my paperwork as I was leaving to go home as I could wait till 10 to 11 at night to have it done. I felt the nurse ripped my line out of my arm and told me to go, no forms or anything for me to sign, nothing. I asked about the leaving before treatment form and they told me to just go.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Care Opinion Australia nearly 2 years ago
Submitted on 1/12/2020 at 3:23 PM
Published on Care Opinion at 3:26 PM

This response has been published by Care Opinion on behalf of Canberra Health Services:

Dear nuthatchrp99,

Thank you for sharing your story about your recent experience at the Canberra Hospital Emergency Department and Day Surgery Unit. I am sorry that you had such a long wait, and that the nursing staff support did not meet your expectations.

I am concerned that you had to leave before surgery could take place and do hope that you are now recovering well from your injury.

At Canberra Hospital, we look to our staff to be responsive to the needs of patients even when they are busy and under pressure, and to take extra care with every procedure.

Canberra Health Services is committed to providing exceptional health care, and we expect our staff to demonstrate our values of being kind, respectful, reliable and progressive in their work each day.

On this occasion, your story indicates our staff did not meet these expectations. I was disappointed to read about your experience and I can assure you, your feedback is being investigated by a clinical team at Canberra Hospital and will be shared and discussed with the relevant staff.

If you would like to discuss this matter further, please contact our Consumer Feedback and Engagement Team at Canberra Health Services on 5124 5932 or

Thank you again for raising these matters so that we can address them. We value hearing from our patients, whether the experience is positive or negative. This information helps us to constantly assess our systems and processes and make improvements where needed.


Denise Patterson, Chief Operating Officer, Canberra Health Services

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k