This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Very disappointing care of a diabetic"

About: Prince of Wales Hospital / Diabetes Centre Prince of Wales Hospital / Emergency Department Prince of Wales Hospital / PB9W - Nephrology Ward

(as the patient),

I attended the ED at Prince of Wales at night recently with an infected wound on my foot. As a diabetic with pain radiating up to my groin, I believe should have been put on IV antibiotics. Instead I was given an oral antibiotic and a script for the same. A nurse went to apply a dressing with, I think, no intention of cleaning the wound; I had to ask them to clean it first.

I had an appointment with the Diabetes Clinic a couple of days later. The Dr felt IV antibiotics were required and asked that I be admitted. I got a bed mid-afternoon that day and 3.30 am the next morning, I finally received my first antibiotics since I took one in the morning before.

I feel the Drs here don't seem to have a lot of concern for me as a person. I have asked to see the Nursing Unit Manager twice to address my concerns with no success. There does not seem to be a clear treatment plan. Not that has been explained to me. Recently a Dr told me it looked worse that day. Not sure what I'm supposed to do with that information.

I watched the redness and swelling increase on the day I was admitted whilst waiting for medical attention and feel absolutely hopeless and helpless. I've been told I may lose a toe as a possible option. I declined to accept that option. I don't believe there is much hope left for me, but I would like to see better education for ED doctors when it comes to infected foot wounds in diabetics. IV antibiotics can save body parts and, in my opinion, self-esteem, dignity and even the will to live. 

I have to say the nurses here are amazing. The porters lovely and the Diabetes Clinic awesome.


Response from Barbara Daly, ESCM Co-Director of Nursing, Prince of Wales Hospital, Prince of Wales Hospital 2 months ago
Barbara Daly
ESCM Co-Director of Nursing, Prince of Wales Hospital,
Prince of Wales Hospital
Submitted on 23/02/2021 at 15:05
Published on Care Opinion at 15:33

Dear Dreadfuldiabetic,

Thank – you for taking the time to write to us and share your concerns regarding your visit to our Emergency Department. We are very disappointed to read that the urgency of your clinical presentation was not fully appreciated by the Emergency Department Staff. We sincerely apologize to you for not receiving the right care at the right time which resulted in delay in you receiving antibiotics and the correct clinical care to manage your acute health issue.

We are distressed by your concerns and would like to investigate this matter to fully understand why you had such a preventable delay in receiving the medical care and treatment you required to treat your health illness. Could you please send your contact details to the General Manager's email address Consumer Feedback (

We sincerely hope that you have recovered from your illness and your health is improved. We are very grateful to you for taking the time to write to us and share this concerning care story. We hope to hear from you so that we can investigate this matter in more details and understand the failings that occurred in your care.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /