This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Outpatient therapy services"

About: Osborne Park Hospital / Department of Rehabilitation Medicine (DRM)

(as a carer),

I am currently caring for a stroke patient undergoing outpatient rehabilitation at the Osborne Park Hospital. Initially, the rehab was in Block F, which has abundant parking just outside the facility but are now in Block T.

The Therapy Hub has excellent facilities, newer equipment and, as always, amazing therapists providing outstanding care. However, the one thing lacking is access to parking outside the entrance. The only parking available for patients who do not have the requisite Acrod pass to use the disabled bays is across the road, with bays usually only available furthest to the building.

As you would appreciate, accessibility to parking is critical when patients are at various mobility degrees in their rehab journeys.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Janet Zagari, Executive Director, Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group 17 months ago
We are preparing to make a change
Janet Zagari
Executive Director,
Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group
Submitted on 9/03/2021 at 6:50 PM
Published on Care Opinion on 10/03/2021 at 10:08 AM


picture of Janet Zagari

Dear fornaxzj45,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of the outpatient rehabilitation service at Osborne Park Hospital. We are very pleased to receive such positive feedback on the new facilities and the quality of treatment provided by the staff.

I would also like to thank you for your feedback about the need for additional parking for patients closer to the Therapy Hub. We realise how important accessibility is for our patients and I am pleased to advise you that there are plans in place to increase the patient/visitor parking bays in this area as well as provide for an accessible pedestrian crossing.

I hope that the patient who you are caring for, is progressing well with their stroke rehabilitation.

Kind regards

Janet Zagari

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by fornaxzj45 (a carer)

Dear Janet,

Thank you so much for your prompt response and for wishing my patient well.

I am certain the changes you have proposed will benefit all patients.

In the short term, may I suggest that some of the current Acrod bays be converted to multiuse specifically for seniors? Patients who need the parking spot but do not have an Acrod card can then access these as well.

The current process for applying for an Acrod card is, I feel, complex and arduous indeed.

Best wishes and kind regards.

fornaxzj45

Response from Janet Zagari, Executive Director, Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group 17 months ago
We have made a change
Janet Zagari
Executive Director,
Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group
Submitted on 15/03/2021 at 2:11 PM
Published on Care Opinion at 2:14 PM


picture of Janet Zagari

Dear fornaxzj45,

Thank you for your suggestion about converting some of the ACROD parking bays. Unfortunately, we are unable to make any changes to the existing ACROD parking bays, which are compliant with the National Construction Code.

I am happy to advise however, that the plan for the pedestrian crossing and additional patient/visitor parking bays are planned for commencement on 27 March.

Thank you again for your very valid feedback.

Kind regards

Janet Zagari

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Janet Zagari, Executive Director, Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group 11 months ago
We have made a change
Janet Zagari
Executive Director,
Sir Charles Gairdner Osborne Park Health Care Group
Submitted on 1/09/2021 at 6:31 PM
Published on Care Opinion on 2/09/2021 at 8:19 AM


picture of Janet Zagari

Dear fornaxzj45,

Just wanted to provide you with an update regarding our progress with your suggestion for additional visitor parking at the Osborne Park Hospital Therapy Hub.

I am happy to inform you that the work has now been completed, with two rows in Car Park 1 being identified as visitor parking which will provide convenient access for patients and carers attending appointments at the Therapy Hub.

Once again, my sincere thanks for your feedback.

Kind regards

Janet Zagari

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k