This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Waiting for surgery for wrist fracture"

About: Bunbury Hospital / Emergency Department Bunbury Hospital / Surgical Ward

(as the patient),

I did this injury one night. I also split my forehead and required 7 stitches. I arrived at ED via ambulance. I waited for a few hours covered in blood and still bleeding from my forehead where a lovely triage nurse finally had, I believe, enough common sense to dress my wound and slow down the bleeding after being given multiple tissues from other nurses whilst waiting to see an ortho doctor and get my wound attended to properly.

I waited for a few more hours whilst getting seen to and wrist broken again by the doctor. I then was discharged I rang outpatients clinic a few days later and they said someone will call you today, no call by the mid afternoon rang again they said everyone has gone home.

So I rang them the next day and they realised they had all my details wrong on file. So, I believe, no one thought to ask my correct details in several hours being in ED. How did they even know who I was in the first place as my wallet was in my back pocket the whole night?

Finally got hold of the ortho doctor after they had my correct number on file. I was then told could possibly be two days from then. The night before I got told it won't be tomorrow but two days after that. So I fasted on that new date as per operating procedure then got told can't do that day but maybe the next day. So I fasted the next day waited at the hospital for several hours was even in a bed with the hospital gown on and hospital ID bracelets on and got told at midday I can't be done today.

So I left frustrated as ever. Surgeon rang me the next morning after getting to hospital again and told me can't do today which was fine cause at least I could go eat. I believe there is lots of room in theatre there are just no beds available which, I feel, is beyond a joke. I have waited for over a week now and fasted 4 days in a row to get my surgery done and has been canceled. I just want to get back to work as I'm self employed.

I believe the poor staff at this hospital are overworked, and I feel something has to change. How can there apparently be no bed space in a hospital? How has someone seemingly let it get to this point? I feel lots of questions need to be answered here. It's the beginning of the week again and I'm still waiting to hopefully go in for surgery but I have been let down time and time again so I'm not counting my chickens yet.


Response from Jeremy Higgins, A/Operations Manager Bunbury Hospital, WACHS South West last week
We have made a change
Jeremy Higgins
A/Operations Manager Bunbury Hospital,
WACHS South West
Submitted on 09/06/2021 at 09:32
Published on Care Opinion at 09:33

picture of Jeremy Higgins

Dear Warman22,

I am sincerely sorry to hear about your experience at Bunbury Hospital. You have raised some very valid questions and I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us.

From reading your story, I can see that while you have been cared for promptly in the Emergency Department (ED), there have been issues with communication from the hospital and your surgery has been delayed numerous times. I can only imagine the impact this is having on you, particularly as you are self-employed and don’t know when you will be fully recovered to return to work. Regrettably, sometimes patients have to be rescheduled due to other emergencies in the ED. It is also true that at the moment Bunbury Hospital is experiencing demand and capacity pressures due to an increase in people needing care in hospital.

I would like to let you know that Bunbury Hospital is undergoing a major redevelopment over the coming years, which includes the construction of an additional operating theatre, the reconfiguration of the ED, along with additional beds. While this work will take time to complete, we are recruiting additional staff, working to ensure we are reviewing the way things are done and trying to ensure patients care is timely, safe and, ideally, an excellent experience every time. It’s clear this hasn’t been your experience and I am very sorry about this.

So that we can look into what happened and support you, can I encourage you to reach out and call our Customer Liaison Officer on 9722 1521 or the Hospital Coordinator on 9722 1262 who will get your details so that we can urgently review your circumstances. If you are in pain and need help now, please attend the ED so you can be seen by one of our Doctors.

I hope that we hear from you soon.

Yours sincerely

Jeremy Higgins

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /