This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Hospital staff"

About: Armadale Hospital / Emergency Department

(as the patient),

I had been vomiting for a week with several abdominal and rib pain which happens on/off for months, but this time has been more severe. I have already been to the doctors and given a prescription which wasn’t working and making me violently ill so I called health direct and was advised to go to ED immediately. 

In my opinion, the triage nurse in ED was extremely rude. 

Once admitted, one nurse was trying to help me but I felt the next nurse was extremely rude and condescending, belittling me and berating me to tears even though I believe I was clearly under distress and asking them for help.

I was told I could have the same prescription that’s hasn’t been working for me and fluids. Before the fluids were finished, I was told to leave, even after practically begging to stay and finish it even if I had to sit in the hall but I wasn’t allowed.

I left still very sick. The doctor I visited the day after, the pharmacist and the phlebotomist two days after, all said the treatment I relayed to them was unfair and should have been taken more seriously. 

Am awaiting my tests and MRI results. 

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Diane Barr, Executive Director, Armadale Kalamunda Group last month
Diane Barr
Executive Director,
Armadale Kalamunda Group
Submitted on 21/10/2021 at 16:55
Published on Care Opinion at 16:56

picture of Diane Barr

Dear waterkh65,

Thank you for taking the time to let me know of your experience whilst attending the Emergency Department (ED) at Armadale Health Service (AHS). Patient stories provide Armadale Kalamunda Group (AKG) the opportunity to improve health care to our community and guide service improvement.

I am saddened to hear that you were not treated with the respect, compassion and concern we expect our staff to demonstrate. The behaviour you have described causes me great concern as it does not reflect our organisation's values or the values of the emergency department who strive to provide compassionate patient centred care. Your feedback has been shared with the Director of Nursing and the Emergency Department Nurse Coordinator.

AKG’s Director of Nursing is committed to delivering patient-centred care and would like to offer you the opportunity to meet with her to discuss your concerns, so we can investigate the matter thoroughly. If you would like to arrange a time to meet to discuss your concerns, please contact our Consumer Engagement Office on (08) 9391 1153 or

Armadale Kalamunda Group endeavour to deliver high-quality patient-centred care and I apologise that this was not your experience with our service.

Kind regards,

Di Barr

Executive Director

Armadale Kalamunda Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k