This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Substandard Service living in remote area"

About: Perth Children's Hospital / Orthopaedics - Outpatient Clinic C

(as a parent/guardian),

I felt powerless and a general lack of care when we had a follow up appointment for my child's broken wrist. The specialist joked that they saw the job Newman did on a plaster and that we wouldn’t get any better because of where we lived. When I requested a second opinion and how I would receive the referral there was shoulder shrugs and I felt general arrogance from the specialist and register in the room. When I questioned whether the wrist was ok given the x-ray I was not given clear information and just fobbed off. Not good enough!  

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Perth Children’s Hospital 3 weeks ago
Submitted on 19/06/2024 at 3:37 PM
Published on Care Opinion at 4:40 PM


Dear NewmanResident

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Care Opinion regarding your experience at the Orthopaedic outpatient clinic at Perth Children’s Hospital (PCH).

I was concerned that you did not receive the information that you needed or the level of care and professionalism that all families can expect to receive at PCH. Parents and carers are entitled to request a second opinion and the doctor should have facilitated this for you. I am very sorry that this did not occur.

I acknowledge that families living remotely may have additional challenges in accessing health services, however, this should not impact on the quality of care that you can expect to receive. I would like to look into this further and ensure that you have the information that you need to support your child’s ongoing care. If you are open to this, please contact the Child and Family Liaison Service by telephone on 6456 0032 or by email at CAHSFeedback@health.wa.gov.au so we can confirm your child’s details.

I do hope that your child is recovering from their broken wrist.

Your sincerely

C Dunbar
Nurse Co-Director
Surgical Directorate
Perth Children’s Hospital

Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k