This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Attending emergency department"

About: Kalgoorlie Health Campus / Emergency Department

(as the patient),

My experience happened a few weeks ago. I attended at the hospital in the afternoon as l had an unusual pain at about mid-morning in the chest after just sitting down accompanied by sweating, first hot then cold. I felt really strange but as my young grandchild was in the room l waited until l felt l could get up and go and lie down. This l did and after about 1/2 hr l got up again. I didn’t want them to worry and as l felt somewhat recovered l waited till my adult child could pick up my grandchild in the afternoon and got them to take me to the hospital.

The only negative was it took some time for someone to come to the desk and l as feeling like l would collapse. There is no chair to sit on, you just stand and wait. I believe it's first come first served so if you sit further back you will lose your turn. No one was in front of me.

Several clerical staff came in and out and said it would not be long, but it did seem a long wait. Maybe a number could be taken so you could sit and the next number be called when a nurse is ready to attend to the next patient, with a seat at the counter.

I believe the nurse realised l wasn’t in good shape and took me in to get my details etc. l went back into the seating area and was called back in almost immediately. From then on, my experience of all the 3 doctors and other staff was amazing. I felt they dealt with me extremely professionally and with concern. Unfortunately, l lost the details of their names but couldn’t have felt more that l was in good hands and the thorough check over and tests were not conclusive about anything but l felt confident to go home and not worry. If l have a similar experience l was asked to go immediately to the hospital which l will certainly do. I would rate the care l received by the doctors, nurses and other staff to have been excellent in the emergency department on this particular occasion. 

Reception

Reception


Waiting Time

Waiting time


Cleanliness

Cleanliness


Team work

Team work


Staff skills

Staff skills


Staff attitude

Staff attitude


Responses

Response from Peter Tredinnick, Regional Director, Regional Office, WACHS Goldfields last week
We are preparing to make a change
Peter Tredinnick
Regional Director, Regional Office,
WACHS Goldfields

Regional Director

Submitted on 18/10/2021 at 15:09
Published on Care Opinion at 15:59


picture of Peter Tredinnick

Dear Catdog,

Thank you for taking the time to share your story with me. I apologise that you had to wait to be seen by the Triage Nurse upon arriving at the Kalgoorlie Hospital Emergency Department (ED) while you were feeling so unwell and the stress this may have caused you. Triage nurses require extensive experience and training to undertake this role, on occasions the triage nurse is called away from the front desk to assist in another emergency or resuscitation situation within the Emergency Department.

Previously there has been a chair available for patients to wait in at the triage counter, I believe that only recently the chair has been removed due to it being used inappropriately. I plan to meet with the Operations Manager of the Hospital to discuss other options as I can see that your experience would have been improved had the chair still been there.

I am particularly proud of the fact that you felt the care you received from our clinical ED staff was professional, supportive and that your concerns were attended to in a way that you felt confident to go home and not worry further.

I truly thank you for your insight and feedback of our service, for this gives us information to help us continually improve our patient’s experiences.

Kind Regards,

Peter Tredinnick
Regional Director
WACHS Goldfields

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k